Birthdays

No birthdays today

Sons of Scotland

This is the place to post news of charitable or benevolent events that are happening in your area. To post a topic you must be a registered user.

Topic Author
Northwood
Forest Pioneer
Forest Pioneer

Sons of Scotland

Postby Northwood » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:16 pm

This is an organization I am just learning about, I have some Scottish heritage, so will explore more....

http://sonsofscotland.com/

At the Sons of Scotland, we preserve and promote Scottish heritage and culture in Canada. As a fraternal association we provide social activities for our members and encourage involvement in our communities. We also offer life insurance and financial products for the benefit of our members. You don’t need to be Scottish to be a member; we welcome all those who have an interest.

Canada is a rich mosaic of cultures – one being the Scots. Canadian history resounds with the ring of Scottish surnames, each contributing to the founding building and developing of our great nation. Names such as Fraser, MacDonald, Mckenzie and Bell have helped to weave a tartan pattern into the fabric of Canada.

The Sons of Scotland is a non-profit, member-oriented, fraternal benefit association. We involve ourselves with community events, local charitable organizations and organize activities for members, family and friends to attend. There are regular opportunities each month to meet with “folks like yourself”, featuring entertainment with a distinctly Scottish flavour… Robbie Burns’ suppers, ceilidhs, picnics, BBQs and trips.

At the Sons of Scotland, we are proud to be Scottish Canadians. Active participation in Scottish Highland and Country Dancing, Piping, the Highland Games and the wearing of our Scottish attire help to keep our heritage alive and kicking!
Activities